This is the "Home" page of the "Library FAQs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library FAQs   Tags: faq, faqs, fkcc, frequently asked questions, questions  

Frequently asked questions & answers about the FKCC Library.
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.fkcc.edu/faqs Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Hours

Monday 8:30am – 6:00pm
Tuesday 8:30am – 6:00pm
Wednesday 8:30am – 6:00pm
Thursday 8:30am – 6:00pm
Friday 8:30am – 4:00pm
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed
 

Catalog Search

Search FKCC's catalog ...

Find the right article database:
Databases A-Z | Databases by Subject | Databases LibGuide

Contact Us

Do you need additional assistance? You can contact us using the following methods:

Phone: (305) 809-3194
Email: library@fkcc.edu

You can also stop by the Circulation Desk and receive help immediately.

      
     

    Ask a Librarian

    Ask a Librarian is a free online service that allows Floridians to live chat with, text, or e-mail a librarian for assistance.

    Our dedicated Text number is: 786-565-4767

     

    Updated Borrower ID

    To access the electronic resources available from the FKCC Library, you need your Borrower ID and PIN.  We recently rolled out an update to the Borrower ID, however, and it is now your FKCC ID number (aka, your 9000 number).

    Your PIN will still be a four digit number, usually the last four of your Social Security Number.

    If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact the Library at 305.809.3194 or library@fkcc.edu.

     

    FAQs

    General Info

     

    What are the Library's hours?

    See the box to the left with our current hours.

    What is the Library's website?

    library.fkcc.edu

    How can I get a library card?

    Students now use their FKCC ID, which includes a scannable barcode of their ID number, as their library card.  Faculty and staff also use their FKCC ID number as their library access.

    Community patrons (with an either an ID or other material indicating a Monroe County address or a military ID) may obtain a card by visiting the Key West campus library located on the second floor of building A.  

    What is my Borrower ID?  What is my PIN number?

    For students, faculty, and staff, your Borrower ID is your FKCC ID number (starting with 9000).  Your PIN is a four-digit number, usually the last four digits of your Social Security Number.

    For community members, your Borrower ID is your library card number (starting with 239...).  Your PIN is a four-digit number that you created at the time you signed up for your library card.

    Can I buy/borrow a copy of my textbook through the library?

    No, the library does not sell nor lend textbooks.  We do have a select number of textbooks on reserve for library-use only, however.  Textbooks are available for purchase from the online bookstore.

    Can I print out my class assignment at the library?

    Yes.  Printing is available through our WEPA Kiosk.  Library users must go to www.wepanow.com and create/log-in to their account.  Student log-in information and passwords for WEPA are e-mailed to their FKCC accounts.  Print jobs can be made from our local workstations, your laptop, or  a smartphone.

    Cost: Black-and-white pages are $.15 and color pages are $.65 per page. Print cards are also available for $5 each.  Visit the WEPA website for more information.

    How long can I check out a book?

    Books are loaned for 3 weeks and are renewable by phone, in person, or by logging into My Account from the library’s online catalog.

    Can I renew my Library items?

    You can either contact the library (by phone or in person) or you can use the My Account feature on the library’s catalog web page.

    Can I use a computer at the Library?

    Yes, the library has computers available for use.  They must be checked out at the desk first.  The computers contain Microsoft software and Internet access.  Community patrons (people who are not current students) must pay to use the computers.

    What is the cost to use the computers as a Community Patron?

    The fees to use a computer for 1 day is $5.00 for community patrons.


    Finding Items

    How do I find items at the Library?

    Use the online catalog and search for the item you are looking for.  

    How can I get a book not available at Florida Keys Community College?

    Books not available in the library may be requested via interlibrary loan.

    How can I locate a full text article for my assignment?

    Full text journal articles, newspapers, and eBooks are available through any of our databases accessible from the library’s website.  You will need your Borrower Id (your 9000 number) and your PIN (the last 4 digits of your SS#).

     


    Assistance

     

    Can I get help with my assignment (like a power point presentation)?

    Yes, please contact us or stop by the library to make an appointment.

    Can I get help with citation formatting (like MLA or APA)?

    We have many sources available for MLA and APA format, from books to websites to knowledgeable staff.  Please contact the library for more information, or view the LibGuide information for specific styles.

    Does the library have online help?

    Yes, we do through the Ask a Librarian (askalibrarian.org) service located from the Library’s website.  This service provides live chatting, text messaging, and e-mailing with a librarian for a majority of the day.

    I lost my library card can I get a new one?

    Yes, please stop by the front desk with an ID.  To replace a student ID the fee is $5.  To replace a community library card, the fee is $1.

    I forgot my library card – can I still use the computers or borrow a book?

    You may use the Library services by giving us a photo ID, but please remember to bring your library card next time. 


    Things We Have

     

    Does the library have a place where my study group can meet?

    Yes, we have two study rooms available for FKCC students.  Please visit the online scheduler to book a study room.

    My professor said he has an article or book held for the class in the library - where can I find it?

    Items for courses are available at the circulation desk.  

    Does the library have wireless internet?

    Yes, the library has wireless internet available. 

    Does the library have DVD movies?

    We do have DVD movies and they may be checked out for 7 days.

    Does the library have audio books?

    We do have audio books on CDs.

    Does the library have eBooks?

    We do have eBooks.  They can be accessed by logging into our online catalog or from our databases

     


    Miscellaneous

     

    Is there an alternative to buying a print/copy card?

    Yes, you can e-mail the document to yourself or save it to a flash drive.

    How can I find out what is happening in the library?

    Check out the library’s online calendar.

    Does the library have a copy machine?

    No.  

    Does the library have a fax machine?

    Yes.  Located at the circulation desk, faxing costs $1.00 per page.  It is only a sending service, we do not receive faxes.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip